Official Announcement of Finalists for 2020

Announcement by Her Excellency, The Hon Margaret Beazley AC QC, Governor of NSW
Minister for Police and Emergency Services David Elliott has today  announced the 28 Rotary Districts of NSW Emergency Services Community Awards (RESCA) finalists.
RESCA is a community-nominated Awards and is the only time all Emergency Services personnel, both paid and volunteer, are recognised in a combined awards program.
Mr Elliott said the awards are a fantastic opportunity to shine a light upon the enormous contribution of emergency services workers.
“The past year has been an exceptionally challenging one for our community, and this is an appropriate time to pause, reflect and congratulate the individual emergency services for the service that they have provided,” Mr Elliot said.  “As a state we are hugely indebted to all our emergency services men and women. We should never take for granted their commitment to protecting us and it is important that we acknowledge the unsung heroes who repeatedly go above and beyond.  This year’s is the highest number of nominations that has ever been received. Finalists have more than 600 years of combined service and I thank them all for their exemplary community service.”
Finalists are drawn from Fire and Rescue NSW, the NSW Rural Fire Service, the NSW State Emergency Service, Marine Rescue NSW, Surf Life Saving NSW, NSW Ambulance, and the NSW Volunteer Rescue Association.
Included within the Awards program is the Dorothy Hennessy Emergency Services Youth scholarship of $1000 for a volunteer from age 18 to 25 for further career development opportunities or further training.
“This scholarship celebrates our young volunteers and honors the outstanding contribution of an individual in providing support to their community,” Mr Elliott said.
The awards acknowledge and celebrate the selfless Community Service of Emergency Services Personnel whilst also supporting and funding two important Rotary initiatives:
  • Australian Rotary Health – PhD Research Scholarship investigating Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Emergency Services Personnel
  • Emergency and Disaster Preparedness training by a competitively selected Vocational Training Team connected with a developing country in the Asia/Pacific Region
Winners for each service, plus two special overall winners, and the young volunteer will be announced at an Awards presentation on Friday 30 October 2020.
The overall winners for NSW will then represent the state at the National Awards to be held on 23 November 2020, hosted by Joint Patrons, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd), Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia and Mrs Linda Hurley.
Please Note:  Details of the Awards Ceremony will be advised at a later date.
RESCA Finalists
Dorothy Hennessy Youth Scholarship Finalists