RIWA 2021
Nominations are now open for RIWA 2021 and close on Sunday 20th June.
Click here for the online awards application.
RIWA Winners 2020

Her Excellency, The Hon. Margaret Beazley AQ QC, Governor of NSW  with Christine Cleary – Inspirational Woman of the Year 2020   
Her Excellency, The Hon. Margaret Beazley AQ QC, Governor of NSW  with Fibha Frameen – Young Inspirational Woman of the Year 2020
In keeping with Rotary's motto of "Service Above Self", these Awards acknowledge and celebrate community service performed by women through their various activities and endeavours. They recognise the work down by women, the "quiet achievers", whose actions inspire others and make a difference to their communities.
The Rotary Inspirational Women's Awards (RIWA) recognise service to the community across all sectors. They are directed at the non-Rotary community. It is about the commitment, dedication, perseverance and proactivity in improving the lives of others. The Awards are open to women across NSW. There are separate awards for city and rural nominations.
The awards are divided into two categories for 2021:
Inspirational women over the age of 30
  • Urban
  • Rural
  • Healthcare worker
Young Inspirational women, 18 to 30 years of age on the date of the awards
  • Urban
  • Rural
  • Healthcare worker
  • Wednesday 5 May 2021 - Launch and nominations open
  • Sunday 20  June 2021 - Nominations close
  • Wednesday 21 July 2021 - Announcement of finalists
  • Sunday 19 September 2021 - Event
A panel of independent judges from Rotary Districts will assess nominees on three key criteria:
  • Community service which best exemplifies Rotary's motto of Service Above Self
  • Achievements
  • Personal attributes
Website: www.riwa.com.au
Promotional Flyer: 2021 RIWA Flyer
Finalists for 2020
The NSW Minister for Mental Health, Regional Youth and Women, The Honourable Bronnie Taylor MLC, today announced the 24 NSW 2020 finalists for the Inspirational Women’s Awards proudly presented by the Rotary Clubs of NSW.
Mrs Taylor said the Awards are a fantastic opportunity to shine a light upon the enormous contribution of women in both urban and rural communities across New South Wales.

“These awards celebrate the outstanding commitment, energy and sacrifice of these incredible people who give so much of themselves and ask for nothing in return,” Mrs. Taylor said. 

“I congratulate all of the nominees for going above and beyond to make a difference to the lives of their peers and as a former cancer nurse, I’m particularly pleased to see the new category for healthcare workers.”

This Year’s awards were expanded to recognize Women serving in the various Healthcare sectors of our communities. Given the drought, fires, floods and now COVID, these have presented greater challenges and opportunities for women.  

“This year’s finalists come from a variety of backgrounds and I thank them all for their exemplary community service.”

Mrs. Taylor thanked all who submitted nominations this year, which are the largest ever.  The judges comprising panels of Rotarians from across the State of NSW have been very proud to be involved and expressed the high quality of nominations have made their task very challenging and a wonderful honour.

RIWA Chair, Rae-Anne Medforth is joined by our Awards Ambassador, Louisa Hope and the RIWA committee in extending their congratulations to each of our finalists. Finalists come from country locations, including Old Bar, Erowal Bay, Bulwarra, Cessnock, East Orange and Walgett.  Urban include those from the Sydney area, Norfolk Island, Newcastle and Wollongong.  

The RIWA committee is currently organizing a Virtual Awards Ceremony to be held on 15 November 2020, to be compliant with COVID requirements.  Full details will be announced and circulated as soon as they are confirmed.
Media Contact – Richard Shute | Minister Taylor | 0409 394 232